Golf on TV: Golf Tournament Television Schedule

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Sunday, October 22, 2017 | 10:41 a.m.

Here is a listing of golf-related programming on TV for this week. All times listed are ET and all schedules are subject to change.

How to watch live sports with the Catch Sports app

Site: Jeju Island, South Korea.
Course: The Club at Nine Bridges. Yardage: 7,196. Par: 72.
Purse: $9.25 million (Winner's share: $1,665,000).
Television: Wednesday-Saturday, 10 p.m. to 2 a.m. (Golf Channel).
Defending champion: New tournament.
FedEx Cup leader: Brendan Steele.
Notes: This is the first year for the tournament, which gives the PGA Tour a three-tournament swing through Asia. ... The $9.25 million purse is the largest behind the The Players Championship, the majors and the World Golf Championships. ... Perez has won in back-to-back years, after just one victory in his first 14 years on the PGA Tour. ... Hideki Matsuyama with his tie for fifth in Malaysia went over $20 million in career earnings. ... Justin Thomas and Jason Day give the CJ Cup two players in the top 10. Also in the field are Adam Scott, Patrick Reed, Daniel Berger and Xander Schauffele. ... K.J. Choi, Si Woo Kim and Sangmoon Bae are among the 16 Koreans in the field. ... Eighteen players from the Tour Championship are playing in the CJ Cup. ... The first player to make a hole-in-one on the 13th hole wins a private Korean food party. Bibigo will provide its chefs to the destination of the player's choosing. The prize is valued at $50,000. ... The course has eight bridges. The ninth is a metaphorical link from the clubs to members and their guests.
Next week: WGC-HSBC Champions.
Site: Taipei, Taiwan.
Course: Miramar GC.
Purse: $2.2 million (Winner's share: $330,000).
Television (tape delay): Thursday, 12:30-5 p.m. (Golf Channel); Friday-Saturday, 12:30-2:30 p.m. (Golf Channel); Sunday, 12:30-2 p.m. (Golf Channel).
Defending champion: Ha Na Jang.
LPGA money leader: Sung Hyun Park.
Notes: The tournament has been held at Miramar since 2014 under a different title sponsor (Fubon). Swinging Skirts previously sponsored an LPGA event that was held at Lake Merced in San Francisco the last three years. ... With her runner-up finish in South Korea last week, Park became the first player this year to top $2 million on the LPGA money list. ... Park has more points in the rookie of the year race than the combined points of the next three players behind her. ... So Yeon Ryu remains No. 1 in the world. Park has been No. 2 since Aug. 18 and her average is 0.24 points behind. This is the slimmest lead for Ryu since her first week at No. 1. ... Ryu's lead for LPGA player of the year is six points over Lexi Thompson and 11 points over Park. ... I.K. Kim leads the LPGA Tour with three victories this year. Ryu, Thompson, Brooke Henderson and Anna Nordqvist each have two victories. ... This is the third of five straight tournaments in Asia.
Next week: Sime Darby LPGA Malaysia.
Site: Sotogrande, Spain.
Course: Real Club Valderrama.
Purse: 2 million euros.
Television: Thursday-Friday, 6-8 a.m., 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. (Golf Channel); Saturday, 8 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. (Golf Channel); Sunday, 7:30 a.m. to noon (Golf Channel).
Defending champion: Andrew Johnston.
Race to Dubai leader: Tommy Fleetwood.
Notes: Johnston won his first European Tour event last year at Valderrama when the tournament was the Spanish Open. ... The Andalucia Valderrama Masters was last held in 2011 and won by Sergio Garcia. ... Padraig Harrington is playing in Spain for the first time in nine years. ... Jon Rahm is playing for the second straight week on the European Tour. Next week at the HSBC Champions will be his 12th counting event of the year. He is third in the Race to Dubai behind Fleetwood and Garcia. ... Valderrama was the site of the 1997 Ryder Cup with Seve Ballesteros as the winning captain, and World Golf Championships won in 1999 by Tiger Woods and 2000 by Mike Weir. ... The next four European Tour events have an average prize fund of just over $8 million.
Next week: WGC-HSBC Champions.
Site: Richmond, Va.
Course: Country Club of Virginia (James River). Yardage: 7,029. Par: 72.
Purse: $2 million (Winners share: $300,000).
Television: Friday-Sunday, 2:30-5 p.m. (Golf Channel).
Defending champion: Scott McCarron.
Charles Schwab Cup leader: Bernhard Langer.
Notes: This is the start of the Charles Schwab Cup playoffs. Dollars become points, and points are double for the next two events. Points then are reset for the Charles Schwab Cup Championship so that the top five players only have to win the finale to capture the Schwab Cup. ... Last year, Paul Goydos won the final event and Langer won the Charles Schwab Cup. ... Montgomerie won for the second time in four starts and moved to No. 7 on the money list. ... In his last 24 rounds, Montgomerie has been under par 23 times. ... Langer leads the PGA Tour Champions with five victories, followed by McCarron with four. ... Langer went over $3 million for the third time in the last four years. He is just under $66,000 away from breaking his money record on the PGA Tour Champions.
Next week: PowerShares QQQ Championship.
This article was written by The Associated Press and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network. Please direct all licensing questions to